Triumph of the Weeds


Garden Update- June 2009
July 1, 2009, 11:00 pm
Filed under: garden

I took these pictures at the beginning of June, but didn’t get around to posting them until now. Oops.

Lemon Thyme.
Photobucket

Greek Oregano, which started growing like gangbusters.
Photobucket

Mint, which really does grow like a weed.
Photobucket

Parsley.
Photobucket

Rosemary. My attempts to grow rosemary from cuttings completely failed, but then I picked up a bush from the Duke Homestead Herb and Craft Fair. And yes, I do realize that using the grass as a backdrop was not the best idea.
Photobucket

Catnip. I also got this at the Herb and Craft Fair.
Photobucket

Garlic. This died off at the end of May and I’m not sure why. I’m not really sweating it because I was just growing it on a lark. I got the cloves from the supermarket and I have no idea what variety is or where exactly it’s from, so I don’t know the specifics about ideal growing conditions and so forth.
Photobucket

Strawberries. These have been growing very well. So far, I’ve gotten a yield of about 5 strawberries, ripening one at a time.
Photobucket

Tomato. The plant is growing pretty well and there’s a dozen or more tomato-lets growing. They seem to be small, but bigger than a cherry tomato or a Roma tomato. Slightly bigger than a golf ball, I guess. Still not sure what variety it is.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

