Triumph of the Weeds


My Garden
January 4, 2009, 11:09 pm
Filed under: garden

My gardening knowledge is close to nil. While my mom had a garden when I was growing up, I never paid much attention to it, aside from the chores that she assigned me. Furthermore, my track record with plants is not too good; I killed an aloe plant that my mom gave me in high school (it ended up freezing during the winter when I placed it too close to the winder) and when I tried again with another aloe plant this past year, it’s health started failing and I ended up leaving it behind when I moved. I’ve since learned that you’re supposed to cut down the roots, not just change the soil, when you repot the plants, so if I had done that, the plant probably would have been OK.

Undaunted, I’ve decided that I’m going to try again. I’m going to leave aloe alone for the time being. Herbs are supposed to be one of the best investments you can make for a kitchen garden, so I decided to start with those. I talked with my mom, and she agreed to give me cuttings of her herbs the next time I visit her. I got a couple herbs from the farmer’s market that she doesn’t have. When I go to visit, she’ll take cuttings from these for her garden.

Lemon Thyme
Photobucket

Greek Oregano
Photobucket

Here’s to not killing these plants. *Crosses fingers*

Also, after I read something on the net about how easy it was to grow garlic, I decided to give it a try. Of course, garlic is supposed to be planted in October but the winters are mild here in North Carolina, so based on what I’ve read, it may or may not work. I just used cloves from the garlic I got from the grocery store.

Garlic- I don’t know what kind.
Photobucket

Obviously, it doesn’t look like anything right now. I think it’s supposed to start sprouting in the spring, so I’ll know then if it worked or not. Also, if they do sprout, I’ll have to transplant to a larger container. I used this little basket because it’s all I had at the moment.

I will be using this blog to track the progress of my gardening endeavors in the future.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

